PUK wins two more seats after IHEC rejects results of some polling stations
The Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) has won two more seats in October 10 parliamentary election after the electoral commission rejected votes from some polling stations due to duplicated fingerprints.

On Friday, member of the Independent High Electoral Commission (IHEC) Imad Jalil said the IHEC had rejected results of polling stations that had “double voting and duplicate fingerprints, or where the electoral devices had technical issues”.

The Iraq judicial council announced on Friday that 15 new candidates had won seats in the Iraqi parliament after the refusal of results of those polling stations, Esta Media Network reported.

The big winner in the election, with more than 70 spots in the 329-seat parliament, was Sadrist movement of Shia cleric Moqtada al-Sadr.

Hashid al-Shaabi leaders have rejected the initial results announced by the IHEC as a “scam” and said they would appeal.

Eight of the new candidates were from Shia parties that rejected the results, while the other seven were from other parties.

Among them were two PUK candidates, Harem Kamal Agha in Erbil and Ronzi Zyad Saido in Mosul, replacing two candidates from the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP).

The PUK’s seats rose to 18, while the KDP’s fell to 31.

Reporter's code: 50101